Can I just tell you that I hate valentine’s day? Even now that I’m married and have a guaranteed date. Still hate it. Think it’s stupid. But I try to make something of it. I got up and made heart-shaped cinnamon toast for my family. That was about all I did to acknowledge it. Then we all just went about our day.

Can I just tell you about the WORST Valentine’s day that I ever had? It was February 14, 2010. I had been dating this guy for a little over a year. And I told him I didn’t want to go out, because I didn’t want Nadia to have to go to a babysitter. So he said he would be happy to bring me some food. He didn’t promise, but said maybe he would even cook me a steak dinner, at my house. I was excited to have a nice low-key date. I put on a dress (gasp) and a little makeup. I even took the time to shave my legs…which, for those of you that really know me, you know this is a HUGE effort.

So, my boyfriend shows up about 7:00. I’m starving, because he’s an hour late. He didn’t bring me any food. He came in and sat on my couch and started watching the winter olympics. Ugh. I asked what he wanted to do for dinner, and he said he wasn’t hungry; he had picked up a burrito on the way over and ate it in the car. WHAT??? I was furious. But I am not good at confrontation or yelling or anything, so I just decided I would not eat and not make a big deal out of it.

So, he watched the olympics, and I sat next to him on the couch, Facebooking. A friend from work popped online and sent me an IM. “What are you doing online? Aren’t you out on a V-day date with your boyfriend?” So, I told him what happened and we chatted a bit more. Not long after, I asked my boyfriend to leave. And told him not to bother coming back.

The next day was a holiday from work, President’s Day I think. Something like that. So Nadia and I hung out at our house. My friend came over, and I told her the whole story about my horrible Valentine’s day. And about my cute co-worker and she said I should call him and ask him to go out for a coffee/drink/beverage/appetizer….whatever…and she would stay with Nadia.

So I did. And he said yes. And after dinner, I didn’t want the night to end.

I was afraid it would be awkward to see him at work the next day, but it wasn’t. And so we made another date for a few days later. And within a few weeks, we were inseparable. And within a few months, we were engaged.

So, all these years, I thought February 15th couldn’t come soon enough. Just to skip over the stupid holiday that fell on the day before. But now, my February 15th is the day that I celebrate, and happily anticipate, for a good reason.

Happy Anniversary Tony!

